FictionMatters
FictionMatters Podcast
Friday Mood Recs: Best Books of the Year (so far) with Liz Hein
0:00
-1:22:42

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of FictionMatters

Friday Mood Recs: Best Books of the Year (so far) with Liz Hein

Plus my no rules, no frills go-with-my-gut top ten
1

Hey readers!

Today I’m joined by my friend Liz Hein who is one of my favorite book recommenders and my go-to person when it comes to sorting out the new release literary fiction landscape. In this episode, Liz and I discuss how we’re feeling about our year in reading and then sharing our top five books of the year so far. Towards the end of this episode we also get chatty sharing some of our biggest disappointments and the books we’re looking forward to in the second half of 2024.

We cover a lot so I’ve time stamped both sections and individual favorite books so you can skip around as needed. Additionally, at the bottom of this post, you’ll find my no rules, no frills, go-with-my-gut top ten list. These are my ten favorite books of the year so far determined on-the-fly with no overanalyzing. These include backlist, new releases, and rereads. 

After you list, head into the comments to tell me about your best books of the year so far and share if anything we discussed or listed today made it onto your TBR!

This post is for paid subscribers

FictionMatters
FictionMatters Podcast
what I read, how I read, and books that matter